The Association was formed in 1953.

The Senior Office Bearers of the Association (since the formation of the Association in 1953 have been):

Presidents   Secretaries   Treasurers  
Harry Hunter 1953-1957 Pop (H) Lee 1953-1962 Duffy (E) Plummer 1953-1954
Frank Maher 1958-1968 Alby Jacobson 1963-1980 Wally Collis 1955-1977
Les Griggs 1969-1970 Bill Gnaden 1981-1995 Keith Waters 1978-1995
Bob Drummond 1971-1990 Darren Rickey 1996-2000 Darren Rickey 1996-1999
Jack Hickey 1991-1997 Barry Capuano 2000-2010 Jerry Backhouse 2000-2003
Ted Leehane 1998-1999 David Collins 2011- Don Gross 2004-
Kevin Parks 2000-2005        
Graeme Schultz 2006-2010        
Barry Capuano 2011-        

Relationship with Essendon Football Club

The EFCPP&OA has always had a great relationship with the Essendon Football Club and on many occasions have worked together to achieve specific outcomes. For instance, from the time that the EFCPP&OA was formed, the EFC supplied 60 seats for past players at home games at Essendon and this arrangement still applies at the MCG and Etihad Stadiums.

Some other major joint programs include:

EFC Past Players Foundation Trust

In 2004 the EFCPP&OA approached the EFC with a proposal to jointly develop a past players foundation trust to assist past players who were suffering financial hardship and were not able to maintain their normal living standards. The EFC agreed to this proposal and the EFC Past Players Foundation Trust was formed, with each group donating $25,000 to initiate the fund. The topping up of this fund, on a year by year basis, is provided by profits generated by the Dick Reynolds Club functions. Since the start of the EFC Past Players Foundation Trust a number of past players and their immediate families have been assisted.

The EFCPP&OA are extremely grateful to the EFC and Committee of the Dick Reynolds Club for their great ongoing support of the EFCPP&OA.

The current Trustees of the EFC Past Players Foundation Trust are Ray Horsburgh, Greg Brown and Barry Capuano.

Debut Jumper Presentation Program

The EFC initiated the presentation of Debut Jumpers for all living past players of the Club in 2003.

The Debut Jumper represents an historical and performance record of each individual. The reference to Debut actually refers to the number that the player was registered with the VFL/AFL, and as only 1104 players (to the end of 2012 have represented the EFC since the formation of the VFL in 1897, it is easy to understand why the recipients so highly regard these presentations, particularly as this is unique within the AFL industry.

Greg Sewell and Barry Capuano presenting Max Nixon with his Debut Jumper at his home at Orbost.

Other information on the jumper includes: Years played, games played, playing number and any milestones, e.g, playing in a premiership team, best & fairest etc.

Interesting statistics on past players of our club, as at October 2015 :

·         Until the end of the 2015, 1,126 players have represented the club at senior level since 1897.

·         Of the above number 37 are still playing, therefore 1,089 are past players.

·         The 1,089 players played 45,117 games at an average of 41.4 games per player.

·         The average length of a player’s career is 3.64 years.

·         381 (35 %) played for one season only.

·         The first player to reach 100 games was Edward Kinnear in 1903, finishing with 105 games.

·         148 players (13.6%) have played 100 or more games.

·         The first player to reach 200 games was Dick Reynolds in 1945 and he was also the first player to reach 300 in 1950, finishing with 320. Dick also played for 19 years.

·         22 players (2.02%) have played 200 or more games.

·         72.9% have played less than 50 games.

The following table shows stats on all games played by past players:


  Games Played Number of players % of Total
  1 117 10.8
  Less than 10 (Incl 1 game players) 445 40.9
  Nov-49 348 32
  50-99 148 13.6
  100-149 89 8.2
  150-199 37 3.4
  200-249 11 1
  250-299 6 0.6
  300+ 3 0.3
  400+ 1 0.1

In 2008 the EFCPP&OA became directly involved with organising Debut Jumper presentations, and as part of this program is actively attempting to locate every living past player to ensure that their jumper is presented as soon as practical.

The intent of the Debut Jumper program was to present the jumpers to players at least three (3) years after their retirement from AFL football.

Life Members of the Association

The following are current Life Members of the Association:

Ian Browning Appointed 2007 Alby Wilson Appointed 2007
Barry Capuano Appointed 2010 Graeme Schultz Appointed 2007
Emil Eugene Appointed 2011 Alan McGillivray Appointed 2009
Gary Grainger Appointed 2009 Kevin Parks Appointed 1996
Jack Feian Appointed 2012 Bruce Reid Appointed 2010
Peter Harrington Appointed 2007 Ian Reynolds Appointed 2010
Colin Hooper Appointed 2011 Don Gross Appointed 2014
Darryl Gerlach Appointed 2016 Charlie Payne Appointed 2016
Harold Lambert  Appointed 2016    


Member Login

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.