Our Fourteenth Flag - Back to Back Flags

Following on from the 1984 flag the Bombers went on to win 19 games during the home and away series. During the season the Bombers amassed 150 points in 7 games and their goal average was 18.5 per game.

During the season Paul Salmon suffered knee problems but was recalled to the team in the last round. The Bombers defeated the Sydney Swans in the last round by 87 points and Paul Salmon kicked 7 goals.

The Bombers faced up to Hawthorn in the second Semi-Final and went on to win 14.8.92 to 9.8 62 having now beaten the Hawks three times during the year.

The team faced up to Hawthorn again in the Grand Final but did not have the services of Merv Neagle, Frank Dunell and Shane Heard due to injury.

The game was fast and fiery and a wild brawl started on the outer wing with most players being involved.

As the game progressed the Bombers showed what a mighty combination they were taking out the game by 78 points, 26.14.170 to 14.8.92.

Best players in the game were, Simon Madden who won the Norm Smith Medal, Tim Watson, Darren Williams, Leon Baker, Paul Salmon, Roger Merrett and Mark Harvey.

Paul Salmon kicked 6 goals, Roger Merrett 5 goals, Mark Harvey 4 goals and Tim Watson 3 goals.

During the season the following players represented the State: Simon Madden, Terry Daniher (Captain), Tim Watson, Garry Foulds, Shane Heard, Kevin Walsh, Mark Harvey, Paul Vander Haar, Roger Merrett, Darren Williams and Merv Neagle.

The Premiership Team was:

B.                                              Mark Thompson                                    Paul Weston                                             Paul Vander Haar

H.B.                                          Garry Goulds                                         Kevin Walsh                                             Bill Duckworth

C.                                              Bryan Wood                                           Leon Baker                                               Glenn Hawker

H.F.                                          Terry Daniher                                        Roger Merrett                                          Tim Watson

F.                                              Tony Elshaug                                          Paul Salmon                                            Mark Harvey

Foll.                                          Simon Madden                                      Neil Clarke

Rov.                                          Darren Williams

I/C.                                           Alan Ezard                                              Steve Carey