1923 Our Fifth Flag

The development of the “Mosquito Fleet” in the early 1920’s saw the club winning the flag in 1923. The men who formed the “Mosquito Fleet” were Charlie Hardy (five feet one and a half inches – 156cm), Rowley Watt (five feet three inches- 160cm), George Shorten, aptly named, five feet five inches- 165cm), Jack Garden (five feet five inches- 165cm), Jim Sullivan (five feet six inches- 167.5cm), Vince Irwin (five feet six inches- 167.5cm) and Frank Maher (five feet six inches- 167.5cm).

To maintain the balance of the team, the club also had six six footers, the tallest being Tom Fitzmaurice at six feet two and a half inches (189cm).

Although Essendon finished on top of the ladder at the end of the home and away series, they were defeated by South Melbourne in the Second Semi Final by 17 points. As the club had finished on top of the ladder at the end of the home and away series, the club had the right to challenge Fitzroy who defeated South Melbourne in the Preliminary Final.

The Grand Final was postponed for a week as the MCG was under water which meant the Essendon had only played one game in five weeks leading up to the Grand Final.

Essendon created a major surprise when they selected thirty three year old George Rawle to play his first game for the club in the Grand Final.

Forty six thousand five hundred and sixty six people attended the game which remained tight all day, Essendon being behind by a point at half time then leading by 10 points at three quarter time. With only nine minutes to play, Fitzroy got to within 4 points before Essendon broke away kicking two goals to win by seventeen points, 8.15 (63) to Fitzroy 6.10 (46).

Best players on the day were Shorten, McCarthy, Fitzmaurice, Maher, Garden, May Watt and hardy.

The Premiership Team was:

B. Vince Irwin Fred Baring Clyde Donaldson
H.B Jack Harrison Tom Fitzmaurice Roy Laing
C. Jack Garden Charlie May Rowley Watt
H.F Tom Jenkins Justin McCarthy George Shorten
F. Syd Barker Greg Stockdale Charlie Hardy
R. Norm Beckton George Rawle Frank Maher


Essendon had other reasons to celebrate the year as Greg Stockdale created a new VFL goal-kicking award with sixty eight goals for the season and Tom Fitzmaurice was named the League player of the year, the year before the Brownlow Medal was introduced.

Justin McCarthy, Clyde Donaldson, Jack Garden, Frank Maher, Norm Beckton, Roy Laing, Greg Stockdale, Harry Hunter and Tom Fitzmaurice all represented the State during the season.

Click Here to read an inspirational poem by Ken Fraser (played in the 1962 Team)

Archived Premiership Articles

  1. 1897 Premiership (1st)
  2. 1901 Premiership (2nd)
  3. 1911 Our Premiership (3rd)
  4. 1912 Our Premiership (4th)
  5. 1962 Premiership (11th)
Welcome to our Website

Welcome to the EFCPP&OA Website. This is great innovation by our Association and one, which I believe will enable the committee of the EFCPP&OA to serve its members and the public better than ever before. Importantly, it will also enable Bomber fans and other football fans to better understand what the Association is all about and to find out what's happening with players who have represented the Essendon Football Club in the recent and distant past.

The Website will be regularly updated to make it part of the living history of our fantastic Club (Refer to tabs at side).

Bomber fans are encouraged to provide us with feedback on the contents of the Website and to give us their thoughts on what else they would like to see. We would also love to hear from you if you have any old photos, stories or memorabilia that would be of interest to bomber supporters.

We hope you enjoy the Website and look forward to hearing from you.

Barry Capuano

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.